Guerrilla Little Library Stuffing

This Little Free Library is located in Phinney Ridge just above the Woodland Park Zoo. I thought the flowers were a nice tough and the selection wasn't too bad either.

This Little Free Library is located in Phinney Ridge just above the Woodland Park Zoo. I thought the flowers were a nice tough and the selection wasn’t too bad either.

I guess if I’m being honest there wasn’t anything all that guerrilla about my activities today. I attended a live streaming of the World Science Festival’s “Time is of the essence … or is it?” for free at Town Hall Seattle (where I suspect Colin and I will spend a fair amount of our time in the future).

And then Colin and I spent the afternoon wandering around Greenwood and Green Lake hunting down little free libraries where I could leave a copy of Scourge of the Righteous Haddock as part of my campaign to find new

My first Little Free Library stop was a charming library with an adorable owl door handle that had me making a spectacle of myself.

My first Little Free Library stop was a charming library with an adorable owl door handle that had me making a spectacle of myself.

readers. I’d been plotting out independent bookstores in Seattle that I intend to contact in the hopes that they’ll carry my book. It was during a conversation about this that Colin proposed the idea of distributing copies among Seattle’s many Little Free Libraries, one of which is just a couple doors down from my apartment.

According to the map on the Little Free Library site, there were nearly 20 little free libraries within a couple of miles of where I live. I only had four books (though I plan on ordering more to cast a wider net with my guerrilla library stuffing) and I already knew I wanted to leave one of them at the house near my own (which didn’t come up on my map, leading me to conclude that it is a rogue little library which is even cooler than a little library in good standing). Colin and I then chose three additional libraries mostly scattered around Green Lake.

My goal, as always with Scourge of the Righteous Haddock, is simply to find readers and preferably readers in

I could not get over the curtains at my second stop, a library crafted to be identical to the house it belonged to.

I could not get over the curtains at my second stop, a library crafted to be identical to the house it belonged to.

unexpected places, readers who don’t already know me.

The book drops went fairly smoothly. I had thought about taking a book or two for myself, but decided it was more fitting to focus on leaving something behind for someone else so I restrained myself, confining my activities to admiring the beauty and ingenuity of the little free libraries, taking pictures (also part of the admiring), and leaving behind a copy of Scourge. I did, however, come to the terribly important decision that when I own my own house I plan to outfit it with a little free library which I will, of course, keep well stocked with copies of my books (as well as many other titles and authors, of course).

With all that said, the irony of the Little Free Library is that it can’t quite be captured in words, so I have prepared some iPhone photos as well:

Stop #1:

IMG_0112

IMG_0113

IMG_0117

Stop #2:

IMG_0118

IMG_0119

IMG_0121

Stop #3:

Screen Shot 2015-05-31 at 4.01.42 PM

IMG_0126

Stop #4:

IMG_0130

The rogue library a few doors down from my house definitely looks like it’s seen better days. I’m not sure how effectively it will weather another Seattle winter, but I still find it completely charming (as evidenced by the fact that I left a copy of my book there).

IMG_0131

Trackbacks

  1. […] Visited, both intentionally and accidentally, no fewer than two-dozen Little Free Libraries; it turns out that Seattle is a Little Free Library mecca. […]

Leave a Reply

