Adding some spice to my reading list

Now that we’re more than one third of the way through 2014–a fact I’m having one hell of a time wrapping my Dunehead around given that I feel quite certain I was just in San Francisco for New Year’s Eve–I figured I should update my 2014 reading list to reflect my recent progress. My intention was to read 50 new books this year, and find that so far I’ve read 20, which puts me at 40 percent of my goal, which isn’t bad considering the year’s roughly 33 percent over.

Of course, I don’t like turning books into a numbers game, but I find that it’s easier for me to keep a better balance between repeatedly reading books I’ve already read and know that I like and engaging with new, challenging fare. And I’m actually really enjoying myself. I just finished Dune last night and I suspect I have at least one blog post’s worth of rhapsodizing in my near future.

Here’s that list:

Dune by Frank Herbert

Sure of You by Armistead Maupin

Babycakes by Armistead Maupin

Further Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin

More Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin

Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin

The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Winterdance by Gary Paulsen

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami

Pawn of Prophecy by David Eddings

Queen of Sorcery by David Eddings

Magician’s Gambit by David Eddings

Castle of Wizardry by David Eddings

Enchanter’s End Game by David Eddings

If on a winter’s night a traveler by Italo Calvino

Before They Are Hanged by Joe Abercrombie

Last Argument of Kings by Joe Abercrombie

The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie

Comments

  1. I liked the Name of the Wind. I don’t think I’ve ever read Dune, tho….

    • I liked Name of the Wind, too. I was on a major fantasy kick and I thought that was one of the more brilliant ones I read. But I really loved Dune, even more than Name of the Wind. I decided to read it after watching a documentary called “Jodorowsky’s Dune” and I thought it was really inspiring.

  2. I’ve heard the book (Dune) is quite different to the film. Did you like the book? I have yet to read Catcher in the Rye.

    • From what little I saw of the movie, the book is quite different and I really loved it. Frank Herbert does such a superb job creating the fantasy world and his writing and thought process is truly remarkable. I wasn’t sure I’d like it because the movie looked so terrible, but I’m glad I read it.

Leave a Reply

