If on a winter’s night a reader

I’ve decided that in order to keep track of the new books I read in 2014, it’s probably wise to BlogPostmaintain a list that I update regularly and which is posted somewhere other than a scrap of paper destined to linger at the bottom of my purse before I unintentionally throw it away in a fit of disgust over the disorganized state of my purse.

You may recall my reading goal for 2014 is 50 new books, which is a very modest goal but one that I know I can achieve while maintaining my daily writing word count. The reason behind setting this goal is that I’ve noticed I have a tendency to pick up books I already know and love and read them over and over again–a wonderful way to while away a day or week or even a year, but I believe that writers (or myself, at least) thrive when presented with new material. I want to improve as a writer and reader and that requires feeding my mind and imagination new material.

Since I didn’t set myself this goal until late January, or maybe early February, I’m a little bit behind but not terribly worried about catching up. In fact, the prospect of reading all those new books is ridiculously exciting and I welcome recommendations (preferably fiction and I’ve been on a major fantasy kick lately so I especially welcome those suggestions and, since I’m currently writing young adult novels, I could stand to read those more frequently as well).

That said, this is where I’m at so far:

Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin

The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie

The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Winterdance by Gary Paulsen

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami

Pawn of Prophecy by David Eddings

My plan is to knock out the next two books in Eddings’ Belgariad series (Queen of Sorcery and Magician’s Gambit) and then move on to Italo Calvino’s If on a winter’s night a traveler and after that I’m not entirely certain where my literary adventures will take me.

 

Leave a Reply

