Two days to 30: The holy trifecta

Sometimes all it takes to make a day go sour is encountering a bad driver on the way to work, or having a necklace or earring snap just as I’m leaving the house, or discovering that Cat Cat has vomited on the pants I was going to wear just as I’m about to put them on (which happened yesterday). Little things, but if Gandalf can say,

“Saruman believes it is only great power that can hold evil in check, but that is not what I have found. I found it is the small everyday deeds of ordinary folk that keep the darkness at bay. Small acts of kindness and love.”

then it stands to reason that petty things can also add up to something more unpleasant. If I go out into the world in a foul mood then there’s a good chance that what I encounter within said world will only encourage my temper. And it’s just no use arguing that life is all about attitude, blah, blah, blah. I’m not someone who advocates people having sunshine crammed up and down every reachable crevice because they’re sufficiently human to occasionally be in a bad mood. Whoever decided that the only respectable mood is cheerful was more than a little dim-witted, in my opinion.

But today did not start off as a bad day. To the contrary, the paper’s proofreader brought doughnuts, a staff writer brought brownies, and the office manager brought cinnamon rolls. I’m counting this as an early birthday miracle on par with the invention of the printing press, airplanes, and coffee. Lest you accuse me of exaggerating, I’ve included a photo of the holy trifecta, to better enable you to grasp just how incredible a day this is for me. And, though I know there’s technically no correlation between any of this and my birthday, I’m going to pretend it’s an early birthday present.

IMG_0257

Leave a Reply

