Oh so indie

This lovely young lady officially hit the Amazon bookshelves three days ago in print and yesterday as an ebook:

schwellenbach-scourge-2-396p.indd

I couldn’t be more proud, or terrified. If you’re so inclined, you can head over to Amazon to check out either the paperback or ebook ($11.99 and $3.99 respectively).

And if you’re interested in helping me market my indie baby, but not sure how to go about this, I’ve compiled a list of 10 (fairly simple) ways you can help:

  1. Buy and read the book. (It’s available at Amazon.com for $11.99 for a print copy and $3.99 for the ebook.)
  2. Share the book on your Facebook page. A basic “hey folks, my friend wrote this, so if you’re in the market for a book and you want to easily be able to tell the author you don’t like it, this is a great option” would be very much appreciated.
  3. Share the book on your Twitter feed.
  4. Share the book on Pinterest.
  5. Share the book on Instagram.
  6. Share the book on your website. You can review it, write a blog about it, or simply mention that the author is this crazy girl you know.
  7. Come to the book release party at Linnaea’s Café on Aug. 30 at 7 p.m. Even if you’ve already bought the book. Even if you don’t intend to buy the book. I’m excited and I’d love to share my excitement with you.
  8. Actually tell people about the book in a non social media situation. (I know these don’t really exist as much anymore, but if you happen to find yourself in one and someone’s asking if you happen to have any recommendations for a book that includes the name of a fish in the title…)
  9. Review the book once you’re finished reading it. And I’m not asking for a fake, glowing review. I genuinely appreciate honest feedback, and people are often reluctant to buy a product on Amazon that has no reviews. Plus, I wanted to create a dialogue and you, as a reviewer, can help get that dialogue started.
  10. 10.  If you know anyone who has a store/ bookshop/ lemonade stand that might be interested in carrying the book, let them know about it.

Kudos are due, by the way, to Lena Rushing for creating the artwork used on the cover, and to Mignon Khargie for designing the cover.

Comments

  1. Amazon suggested I add the book to a baby registry. And why not? Also, it said something about an audio book, which … ?

    • I need to take up smoking before I can record an audio book. Otherwise people will assume a chipmunk found a typewriter and just knocked out a novel. And I have to approve a baby registry that includes books. After all, onesies and diapers are temporary, but a good book is forever. And there’s no better time to start your library, right?

Leave a Reply

